top of page

THE YOUTH PRELUDE

A Modern Vision

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Search

Sweet Goodbyes

By: Ipsa Khurana


I went to the roof at dusk,

To gaze at the evening sky

Which looked particularly beautiful today.


It had all the hues

The world had imagined

With the white clouds and a blue canvas,

It reminded me of the sea.


Airplanes came, and went,

With their twinkling lights

Far above the horizon

At infinite heights.


I wished I could reach the clouds.

Dreamt of being a bird,

So that I could fly high,

And touch the clouds with a subtle wing.


So I could scale the distance

And find the place

Where the Earth, with utter affection,

Lovingly kisses the sky.


And the sun bent down,

Spreading it light, its love,

All over the immense canvas.


I could count a thousand colours,

A million clouds,

As I stared from afar.


Yearned for the sky to surround me,

Warm as a blanket

-That flaunts the most beautiful colours,

And the divinest soft touch.


As the cool breeze blew

I felt a light drizzle, the little raindrops,

Falling one at a time, slowly,

Each, a blessing from the heavens.

Enchanting every part of my body

That they fell upon.


I felt like everything, is a lie,

Us existing, us stressing,

While these exquisite shades of blue constantly give us a reason

To stumble through life

Without a worry.


In that one moment

That those colours stay,

All hope is revived,

And everything goes right.


No trauma remains,

No hate remains,

No ache remains,

No scar.


What remains is an indefinite love;

How much we love the sky,

How much we love the birds flying across,

How much we love the Sun,

Just for the way it sets

And says goodbye.

69 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Violin

bottom of page